Special events

Castle St Methodist Church, Castle Street, CB3 0AH

The Open Bible discussion group meets on alternate Thursdays from 6 to 7:15 in the Aldersgate Room at Castle Street Methodist Church. We read the Bible to support our faith, and (guided by published study materials) to see what it has to say about our lives today. For further information please contact Patricia McGuire (01223) 313516.

Repeats every 2 weeks 12 times.
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, July 4, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, July 18, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, August 1, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, August 15, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, August 29, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 18:00, Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 18:00
St. Augustine's Church, Richmond Rd, CB4 3PS

Nine small islands in the middle of the Atlantic have enchanted sailors and adventurers from the 15th century to the present day, and fuelled speculation as to whether they once formed the lost land of Atlantis mentioned by Plato in c400BC. Richard Footitt explains his own life-long fascination with the Azores - and with the myth of Atlantis.

Friday, November 22, 2019 - 18:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

These two-hour long workshop sessions will be held on the 4th Saturday of the month between 10 am and 12 noon, and led by Margaret Waring (Textiles Society and Embroiderers' Guild). In general all materials for the session will be provided. Participants will be invited to make a donation (£15) to the Friends of St. Giles' Church. Please book in advance as the number of participants is limited. Tel: 01223315000 or email: office@churchatcastle.org

We will start the New Year 2019 with a sample of canvas work stitches on a small scale, and then make it into a needle case or pin cushion.

Repeats every month on January, February, March, May, June, July, September, October, November on the fourth Saturday 24 times except Sat Apr 27 2019, Sat Oct 26 2019.
Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, February 24, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, March 24, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, May 26, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 10:00, Saturday, January 26, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, February 23, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, May 25, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, July 27, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, November 23, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, January 25, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, May 23, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, June 27, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, July 25, 2020 - 10:00, Saturday, September 26, 2020 - 10:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Councillor Gerri Bird, Mayor of Cambridge, will open the Festival, and there will be a blessing of the trees and participating organisatio0ns.
Seasonal refreshments will be provided, with music by Quadriga.

The Festival programme can be viewed and downloaded here.

Friday, November 29, 2019 - 18:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

This year the festival carries the much needed theme 'Hope for the Future'.
As Advent begins, St Giles' will once again be filled with the real scent and signs of Christmas as the much loved Christmas Tree Festival returns. Running from 30th November to the 9th December, and the creative work of a great many groups from across the parish, you will find much to see and do. There will be 23 real 6 foot Christmas trees filling the church with their wonderful scent, all beautifully decorated by Community groups and schools from across the parish.
The Festival programme can be viewed and downloaded here.

Repeats every day 9 times.
Saturday, November 30, 2019 - 10:00, Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 10:00, Monday, December 2, 2019 - 10:00, Tuesday, December 3, 2019 - 10:00, Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 10:00, Thursday, December 5, 2019 - 10:00, Friday, December 6, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, December 7, 2019 - 10:00, Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 10:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Come and buy seasonal gifts, crafts, home-bakes and produce in the beautiful setting of the Christmas Tree Festival. Apart from the stalls, the church will be full of beautifully decorated, real Christmas trees twinkling with lights.There will be Light Lunches and seasonal refreshments for you to enjoy.

Saturday, November 30, 2019 - 12:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Come and learn some traditional skills and take away a beautiful Advent wreath and colourful paper hearts to decorate your home for Christmas. The cost is £20 per wreath, which includes the candles and ribbons and materials, and Danish mulled wine and aebleskiver to keep you going. No need to book - if you have special ribbons or cones you would like to use, bring those along PLUS a pair of scissors or secateurs if you can. All profits go to Namuncha Schools Project

Saturday, November 30, 2019 - 13:00
St. Augustine's Church, Richmond Rd, CB4 3PS

A tribute concert celebrating the Bicentenary of the birth of Clara Schumann, with compositions by Johannes Brahms, Robert Schumann and of course Clara Schumann. Neil Colledge on the piano.

Saturday, November 30, 2019 - 18:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

This year the festival carries the much needed theme 'Hope for the Future'.
As Advent begins, St Giles' will once again be filled with the real scent and signs of Christmas as the much loved Christmas Tree Festival returns. Running from 30th November to the 9th December, and the creative work of a great many groups from across the parish, you will find much to see and do. There will be 23 real 6 foot Christmas trees filling the church with their wonderful scent, all beautifully decorated by Community groups and schools from across the parish.
The Festival programme can be viewed and downloaded here.

Saturday, November 30, 2019 - 10:00, Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 10:00, Monday, December 2, 2019 - 10:00, Tuesday, December 3, 2019 - 10:00, Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 10:00, Thursday, December 5, 2019 - 10:00, Friday, December 6, 2019 - 10:00, Saturday, December 7, 2019 - 10:00, Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 10:00
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

A choral service by candlelight with congregational carols, and a programme of pieces performed by Cantores conducted by Jeremy Wong, surrounded by the beautifully decorated Christmas trees of this year's Christmas Tree Festival.
It will be followed by afternoon Tea.

The Christmas Tree Festival programme can be viewed and downloaded here.

Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 15:30