Quiet Day at St Giles': Ordinary Time, Ordinary People

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Switch off and spend a day reflecting and exploring your spirituality under the guidance of our speaker, Sylvia Pick LLM emeritus. Coffee and biscuits will be served on arrival, drinks are available throughout the day. Lunch and tea are included in the cost of the day, which is £15. If you would like to express interest or register please contact the Parish Office for a registration form or download one here.

Date: 
Sat 15 Jun 10:00 to 16:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

All are encouraged to attend, to hear reports of the work of the various committees and those with delegated responsibilities and the financial reports. Anyone who is on the electoral roll for the Parish of the Ascension may vote for churchwardens and PCC members.

If you are not on the electoral roll but would like to join, please contact the Parish Office.

Date: 
Thu 2 Apr 19:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
service

Volda Vokal Concert

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

This Norwegian choir, on tour in the UK, presents a full programme of Norwegian music from Grieg to modern times, and songs by Elgar. Entry is free.

PROGRAMME:

Edvard Grieg:
I himmelen
Jesus Kristus er oppfaren

Edward Elgar:
Oh, happy eyes
Love
My love dwelt in a northern land
Go, song of mine

Fredrik Hagstedt:
Mysterium
Kontinuum
Eit pust av tid

Bert Handrick:
Agnus Dei

Roar Goksøyr:
Von
Sumar
Minne

Date: 
Tue 25 Jun 19:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Tea at Three

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Starting after Easter, and throughout the summer, St. Giles’ will once again serve refreshments on Wednesdays. The church will be open as usual from 9 am, but in addition to this there will be a special time, between 3 and 4 pm, when there is a chance to chat over a cup of tea and a piece of cake about what is of concern: the news, the weather, the world, or anything else on your mind, concluding with informal prayers. You are warmly invited to come along and give it a try.

Date: 
Repeats every week 18 times.
Wed 24 Apr 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 1 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 8 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 15 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 22 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 29 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 5 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 12 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 19 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 26 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 3 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 10 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 17 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 24 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 31 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 7 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 14 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 21 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
service
Admission: 

St Giles' Fair

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Don't miss the annual St. Giles' Fair, held in the church and gardens, with stalls run by the whole parish, local tradespeople and craft makers, charities and good causes. Along with traditional favourites such as Bric-a-Brac, Jams and Chutneys, Coconut Shy, Cakes and White Elephant, this year we have new stalls:

Genealogy and Family History
Local Honey
Miniature Gardens
Marbling Workshps

Date: 
Sat 7 Sep 12:00 to 16:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Day Trip to Norwich with FOSGC

Location: 
Norwich

Join the Friends of St Giles' Church on a day trip to Norwich…

Leave: 9.00 am; Return: 5.30 pm (approx), Cost: £30 (£25 concessions)
Activities to include:
✤ Visit to St Julian’s Church and the Cell of St Julian of Norwich (optional: prayers in the Cell)
✤ Visit to St John’s Church, Timberhill (optional: midday Eucharist)
✤ Free time to explore central Norwich, including shops, restaurants and the Cathedral.

Date: 
Sat 18 May 09:00 to 17:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
service

Cambridge Sinfonietta Concert

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Programme:

Rossini: Thieving Magpie Overture

Hummel: Trumpet Concerto
Michel Sedgwick - Trumpet

Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave)

Edwin Sung: Promenade dans la vallée de la Marne (World première)

Conductor: Peter Britton
Leader: Oya Takmaz
Tickets: £9, concessions £6, children £2
Available on the door.

http://www.cambridge-sinfonietta.org/

Date: 
Thu 4 Jul 20:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other
Admission: 

Pages

Subscribe to Church at Castle RSS