Lent Course: What Happens When we Pray?

Location: 
Castle Street Methodist Church, Castle St., CB3 0AH

Does prayer change anything and what do our prayers say about the kind of God we believe in?

This course will run every Thursday evening during March. Each session will involve the presentation of a chapter from John Saxbee’s book What happens when we pray?. There will follow some time praying, seeing if we can put into practice what we have discussed.

Date: 
Repeats every week 5 times.
Thu 2 Mar 20:00
Thu 9 Mar 20:00
Thu 16 Mar 20:00
Thu 23 Mar 20:00
Thu 30 Mar 20:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
service

All Loves Excelling - studies in the Letter to the Philippians

Location: 
St. Luke's Rectory, Stretten Avenue, Cambridge, CB4 3EP

The five weekly sessions of this Lent series are designed to help us engage with Paul’s message in Philippians in multiple ways. We will make use of the practice of ‘dwelling in the word’, exploring the themes of the text through music, worship and personal testimony, and spending time discussing the meaning of the text.

The course booklet can be downloaded here or below.

Date: 
Repeats every week 5 times except Tue Apr 04 2017.
Tue 7 Mar 14:30
Tue 14 Mar 14:30
Tue 21 Mar 14:30
Tue 28 Mar 14:30
Tue 11 Apr 14:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Lent discussions on Science and Faith

Location: 
Castle Street area

Does Science make Faith ...
Easier?
Harder?
Impossible?
Even more wonderful?

Come and share questions and ideas, watch videos by scientists in a relaxed, home environment. Please phone 07492 736564 for directions.

Date: 
Repeats every week 5 times.
Wed 8 Mar 19:00 to 21:00
Wed 15 Mar 19:00 to 21:00
Wed 22 Mar 19:00 to 21:00
Wed 29 Mar 19:00 to 21:00
Wed 5 Apr 19:00 to 21:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Maundy Thursday Service, Gethsemane Watch

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle St., Cambridge CB3 0AQ

Following the Maundy Thursday service, which will include the celebration of the first Lord's Supper and the rite of foot washing, the church will be stripped bare of ornaments.
The elements of the eucharist will be moved to the Lady Chapel and a quiet vigil will be held there. This is a response to Jesus' request that the disciples "Stay here and keep watch with me" in the Garden of Gethsemane. Matthew 26: 36-46 You are welcome to stay for any time during the vigil.

Date: 
Thu 13 Apr 19:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Trail of Light - e-Luminate Festival

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle St., Cambridge CB3 0AQ

The Trail of Light, part of the e-Luminate Cambridge Festival, is a unique way to experience the architecture of the College chapels, the beautiful organs, and sublime choirs in a most unusual light. This event consists of a walk through the historic city of Cambridge at the discovery of three chapels: starting at St John's College at 4.00 pm, then to Magdalene College and St Giles' Church.

Date: 
Sun 12 Feb 17:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Pages

Subscribe to Church at Castle RSS