Tea at Three

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Starting after Easter, and throughout the summer, St. Giles’ will once again serve refreshments on Wednesdays. The church will be open as usual from 9 am, but in addition to this there will be a special time, between 3 and 4 pm, when there is a chance to chat over a cup of tea and a piece of cake about what is of concern: the news, the weather, the world, or anything else on your mind, concluding with informal prayers. You are warmly invited to come along and give it a try.

Date: 
Repeats every week 18 times.
Wed 24 Apr 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 1 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 8 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 15 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 22 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 29 May 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 5 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 12 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 19 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 26 Jun 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 3 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 10 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 17 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 24 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 31 Jul 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 7 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 14 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Wed 21 Aug 15:00 to 16:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
service
Admission: 

St Giles' Fair

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Don't miss the annual St. Giles' Fair, held in the church and gardens, with stalls run by the whole parish, local tradespeople and craft makers, charities and good causes. Along with traditional favourites such as Bric-a-Brac, Jams and Chutneys, Coconut Shy, Cakes and White Elephant, this year we have new stalls:

Genealogy and Family History
Local Honey
Miniature Gardens
Marbling Workshps

Date: 
Sat 7 Sep 12:00 to 16:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Day Trip to Norwich with FOSGC

Location: 
Norwich

Join the Friends of St Giles' Church on a day trip to Norwich…

Leave: 9.00 am; Return: 5.30 pm (approx), Cost: £30 (£25 concessions)
Activities to include:
✤ Visit to St Julian’s Church and the Cell of St Julian of Norwich (optional: prayers in the Cell)
✤ Visit to St John’s Church, Timberhill (optional: midday Eucharist)
✤ Free time to explore central Norwich, including shops, restaurants and the Cathedral.

Date: 
Sat 18 May 09:00 to 17:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
service

Cambridge Sinfonietta Concert

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Programme:

Rossini: Thieving Magpie Overture

Hummel: Trumpet Concerto
Michel Sedgwick - Trumpet

Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave)

Edwin Sung: Promenade dans la vallée de la Marne (World première)

Conductor: Peter Britton
Leader: Oya Takmaz
Tickets: £9, concessions £6, children £2
Available on the door.

http://www.cambridge-sinfonietta.org/

Date: 
Thu 4 Jul 20:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other
Admission: 

A Night in the West End - UCCB concert

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

The typically lively programme features:

Starlight Express ~arr. Jerry Nowak
You Can't Stop the Beat, Hairspray ~ arr. Ted Ricketts
Egmont ~ L V Beethoven
Les Misérables ~ arr. Warren Barker
An American in Paris ~ Gershwin, arr. James Curnow

Tickets are available on the door: Adults £6, Students/Concessions £4

Date: 
Fri 14 Jun 19:30
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

University of Cambridge Philharmonic Orchestra

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

Shore - Selections from Lord of the Rings
Tchaikovsky - Marche Slave in B flat minor
Sarasate - 'Carmen Fantasy' and 'Zigeunerweisen'
Haydn - Symphony No. 101in D major ('The Clock')
Conductors: Rebecca Doherty, Tom Edney & Sasha Sneyd

Tickets: £12/£7 on the door, £10/£5 in advance, online or Tel: 01223 300085
https://ucpo.weebly.com/

Date: 
Thu 20 Jun 20:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

The Wash: Between land and sea

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

This is the next in a series of free lectures hosted by the Friends of St. Giles' Church, given every second Thursday of the Month at 11am in St Giles' Church. Dr Oliver Coates will discuss the history of the Wash and offer a cultural significance of its unique landscape.
Refreshments are served from 10.30 am. Full details of each lecture are normally given three weeks in advance.
http://www.churchatcastle.org/

Date: 
Thu 9 May 11:00
Special: 
0
Type: 
other
Admission: 

Community Sunday Lunch

Location: 
St. Augustine's Church, Richmond Road, Cambridge, CB4 3PS

All are welcome to share a delicious, freshly cooked Sunday lunch and friendly company. Normally this takes place on the first Sunday of each month. Please telephone Richard on 01223 364929 or the Parish Office on 01223 315000 if you wish to book a place. Cost of the lunch is £4.50 per head.

This month's menu can be viewed below:

5th May 2019
1.00 pm at St. Augustine's Church

SUNDAY COMMUNITY LUNCH MENU

PAPRIKA and ROSEMARY ROAST LAMB
with
POTATOES

Date: 
Sun 5 May 13:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

De Minnezangers in Concert

Location: 
St. Giles' Church, Castle Street, Cambridge, CB3 0AQ

De Minnezangers is an acapella men's choir from Zele in Belgium. They say "We would like to invite you to our unmissable double concert “Why War Music” ~ “With love from De Minnezangers”.

Date: 
Fri 31 May 19:00
Special: 
1
Type: 
other

Pages

Subscribe to Church at Castle RSS